Why I Love The Master’s Sun

The Master’s Sun is just a great story from beginning to end. Straight from the first episode, we get an interesting story between a soccer player and his girlfriend the day he is getting married, except the girlfriend is dead. All these stories later about the dead are so heart-wrenching and just kill my heart every single episode. Also, the way she keeps touching him is funny, because she only touches him to get rid of ghosts, not because she particularly likes him or anything. Maybe I’m slow, but it took me until the third time around to fully understand the mystery behind Cha Hee-joo (I think I’m just slow because the Viki commenters figured it out pretty quickly).

The thing that connects Joo Joong-won (So Ji-sub) and Tae Gong-shil (Gong Hyo-jin) is Cha Hee-joo. Cha Hee-joo is someone from Joong-won’s past that Gong-shil can see (she can see dead people). Also, the fact that Kang Woo likes Gong-shil makes the leads realize how they actually feel on the inside.

I just love when one person speaks English and the other person just replies in Korean and they just have perfect comprehension of each other (i.e. Joong-won’s dad and his foreign “girlfriend”–her name is Maria lol). I never realized that Joong-won’s father had mistresses because he isn’t that important throughout the drama, I always thought of him as a side character because Joong-won is so different from him. Also, the second time around, I got to like the couple with the security guard and Gong-shil’s sister more. Even though the security guard has a loud mouth, he knows how to shut up sometimes. And the sister is also very thoughtful and loves Gong-shil a lot, enough for her to give up her wedding savings all for Gong-shil when she was in a coma. I think I really liked episode 9, where Gong-shil gets her body completely taken over by the wife of a pianist, because Joong-won does something surprising in the end! I don’t think I’ll be tired of this episode. When Kang Woo is scared of ghosts it’s also pretty funny; I think that’s the reason why I didn’t notice him the first time I watched it, because I believed that Joong-won was the only person that could protect Gong-shil from ghosts (when he touches her, she stops seeing the ghosts).

I am so inspired by Tae Gong-shil’s fashion, especially her particular ring collection. I think she is the main reason why I started wearing rings more. I love the ghost aspect of the story, because even though ghosts aren’t a novel concept, the way they bring ghosts that relate to the events at hand is really enthralling and almost each episode brings me to tears.

Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 9.01.36 PM.png

Secretary Kim mentioned that “must people call Cha Hee Joo a curse in Joong-won’s life, but Tae Yang (another name for Gong-shil) calls it a wound”, so it is only Gong-shil that will be able to fix the problem. I can’t believe they pulled the amnesia stunt in this drama, but thankfully it’s not too overdone and Joong-won gets to the truth quickly. The amnesia makes Joong-won realize how much Gong-shil loved him (to the fact that she would sacrifice her life serving Madame Go to revive him). After the incident, Joong-won can read again and he realizes how different he started acting since going into Gong-shil’s world.

Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 8.15.58 PM.png

On another hand, the OST is really on point. I remember buying the songs from iTunes after watching it the first time around because it was just that good. I don’t know how I’m not tired of this plot yet; it’s so funny, sad, and ridiculous at the same time.

xoxo,

dramaqueensoph

 

 

Leave a Reply

