Why do people stop watching Kdramas?

I’m actually not sure if this happens to many people, but it definitely started happening to me after I got over the initial honeymoon phase of Kdrama-watching. Even after all these posts of me talking about Korean dramas I still feel somewhat awkward about writing on the topic, as if the world is judging me super hard because of it.

I guess the title is a bit unclear. Do I mean when people quit watching Korean dramas forever, or only after the first couple episodes? Well, that’s a good question, because I’m not too sure either (haha bet you didn’t expect that–or maybe you did, because I’m just weird). I think people stop because they want to breathe more of reality. To me, Kdramas were like a good book, a glamorous escape from reality. Whenever I felt suffocated from the constraints of real life, I turned to Kdramas. Actually, it was more when I felt any emotion and had an electronic device and Wi-fi, really (I remember when I used to watch them in my high school computer science class and my teacher caught me–oh why did I remember that). Reality was just too bland and boring for me to be living and dramas were just so appealing in contrast. When I was watching a drama, it feels like I’m no longer part of the world, but in another dimension where homework and responsibility doesn’t exist. I really love when I get off track like this because I feel like that rarely happens anymore. Anyway, for most people, the lure of Korean dramas just ends. Reality becomes more exciting, so there is no longer a need for an idealistic, contrived version of it. I think that’s how most people grow out of it. Of course, this is just a guess, since it hasn’t (and hopefully won’t) happened to me yet.

The main point I was trying to get at with this post was mainly the reason why people stop watching after the first couple episodes of the drama. I think it mainly has to do with how dramas are produced (the first two episodes are released and the production company goes all out, and then changes depending on the popularity of the drama–which is why I think the first two episodes reveal a lot about whether I will continue or not, but also, the drama can slow down a lot after that as well). I think that finishing a drama also requires perseverance; I mean, not anyone can just sit there for 20 hours agonize episode after episode, waiting for the drama to get better or worse.

Why do I keep asking questions in this post? Am I really that bored? The question to those answers is yes. I am bored out of my mind. I am planning on a school-related post soon so hopefully that will spark a lot of future ideas!

xoxo,

dramaqueensoph

Leave a Reply

